Children's Environmental Health Network
Child Health Advocate Award Recipients--Past and Present



Science Honoree:

Dr. Tracey Woodruff, Director of the University of California at San Francisco's Program on Reproductive Health and the Environment; Professor in UCSF School of Medicine and the Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies

Policy Honoree:

Dr. Richard J. Jackson, Professor and Chair of Environmental Health Sciences, UCLA Fielding School of Public Health

Community Honorees:

Dr. Barbara Minzenberg, Deputy Secretary of Pennsylvania's Office of Child Development and Early Learning (OCDEL)

Ms. Maureen Murphy, Director of the Pennsylvania Key


Nsedu Obot Witherspoon Youth Leadership Award Honorees:

Nathan McEmrys, student at Roosevelt High School, Portland Oregon
Roxana Reisch, student at the World of Inquiry School, Rochester, New York



Science Honoree:

Dr. Linda Birnbaum, Director of the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences and the National Toxicology Program

Policy Honoree:

Honorable Michael A. Nutter, Mayor of the City of Philadelphia


Nsedu Obot Witherspoon Youth Leadership Award Honoree:

Maren Johnson, Student Ambassador, Global Soap Project 



Lisa P. Jackson, Administrator, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Arts/Media Honorees:

Meg Kissinger, Investigative Reporter, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

Susanne Rust, Investigative Reporter, California Watch and the Center for Investigative Reporting

Nsedu Obot Witherspoon Youth Leadership Award Honorees:

Christina Bear & Eric Bear, Students & Activists


Community Honoree:

Queen Zakia Rafiqa Shabazz, Executive Director, United Parents Against Lead 

Policy Honoree:

Erik D. Olson, Deputy Director, Pew Health Group, The Pew Charitable Trusts 

Arts/Media Honoree:

Sandra Steingraber, Ecologist; Author; Scholar in Residence, Ithica College

Science Honoree:

Herbert Needleman, Pediatrician, Child Psychiatrist, Researcher & Professor, University of Pittsburgh Medical Center


Community Honoree:

Marva King, EJ Coordinator, EPA Office of Air and Radiation; CARE Program Co-Chair, EPA

Policy Honoree:

Senator Frank R. Lautenberg

Arts/Media Honoree:

Sanjay Gupta, Neurosurgeon; Chief Medical Correspondent, CNN

Science Honoree:

Martyn Smith, Professor, Division of Environmental Health Sciences, UC Berkeley School of Public Health


Community Honoree:

Peggy Shepard, Executive Director, WE ACT for Environmental Justice

Policy Honoree:

James W. Hubbard, Maryland House of Delegates

Bob Axelrad, Office of Air and Radiation, EPA

Science Honoree:

Michael Shannon, Pediatrician, Researcher & Professor, Children's Hospital Boston and Harvard Medical School


Community Honoree:

Elizabeth Blackburn, Coordinator, Community Affairs and Outreach, Child and Aging Health Protection Division, Office of Children's Health Protection and Environmental Education, EPA

Policy Honoree:

Bettina Poirier, Staff Director and Chief Counsel, US Senate Environment and Public Works Committee

Science Honoree:

William Suk, Director, Superfund Research Program; and Center for Risk & Integrated Sciences (CRIS), NIEH

Frederica P. Perera, Professor, Mailman School of Public Health; and Director, Columbia Center for Children's Environmental Health, Columbia University

Greg Farmer


Policy Honoree:

John Edward Porter, former US Representative (Illinois)

Science Honoree:

Lynn R. Goldman, Professor, Environmental Health Sciences, Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health

Peter Robertson


Carol Browner,  Administrator, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency



Donate  Now

Social Network


Subscribe to me on YouTube



Hot Topics

Receive CEHN News!

To join our mailing list, please send an email here.

Join Listserv

To join our Science listserv email here.

To join our Community listserv email here.